Group B Rally

In 1982, FISA created a new class of rally called group b. The limitations were that the vehicles had to be production based, with a minimum of 200 homolgation models, and weight to displacement limitations. This opened the door for awd cars and turbo- and superchargers. Audi started up the insanity, and won the championship right off the bat in 82. Lancia, which was still running a 2wd car, managed to win it in 83, and by 1984 Peugeot, Renault, Ford, and Porsche all had group B cars in the works. By the end of 85, the Lancia Delta S4 and Audi Quattro S2 were making somewhere in the 600+ horsepower range. After Henri Toivonen, his co-driver, and a number of spectators were killed, the series was banned partway through 1986. Here’s a nice video:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.